March 1, 2010

High Stakes Poker Recap, Season 6, Episodes 1-3

Finally, a HSP recap. As always, everything here is just my opinion. If I say that your favorite player did something I don't agree with, and you think that I'm just an idiot, fine. As a low-stakes player, I'm not claiming I have all the answers concerning the analysis of a high stakes poker game.


Anyway, reasons I haven't recapped until now: 1) been very busy, 2) HSP has been...eh, kind of a dud so far this year. I'm sure it will heat up before the season ends, but there haven't been that many interesting hands, the new show segments of Kara Scott interviewing the players and Daniel Negreanu telling stories from poker history a) aren't entertaining or worthwhile in and of themselves, and worse, b) take away from air time that could be allocated to showing more hands. I understand that some viewers want to "get inside the heads" of the top players and have them explain their reasoning, but often it's difficult to relate all these reasons even to another top player, much less a lay audience and an interviewer asking unspecific questions. And that's even if the player being interviewed wants to convey information, which they have every incentive not to do. I think it's best just to show the hands and let viewers decide for themselves what's going on, perhaps with help from the commentator (although I often find myself disagreeing with Gabe Kaplan, so listen to him for actual poker analysis at your own risk - he is pretty funny though. His shit about Hoivold saving up for some new shirts at the Army/Navy depot in Oslo and Hellmuth not owning any clothes that aren't black was hilarious).

As for the hands shown, Phil Hellmuth is still pretty awful, although he might be slowly realizing it if his decision to not re-buy is any indication. The chatter around the tables recently has gotten a little too overt in terms of calling Phil out, and he might be getting the hint that when they say that he sucks at cash games, they aren't kidding. It does provide for high comedy though...check out this clip starting around the 7:40 minute mark:


Daniel Negreanu has gotten a little better, but not much. Durrrr still pwns, and Ivey runs like a Hellenic deity. He also seems to be quite fond of floating and barreling, sometimes multiple streets, on dry boards in limped pots. Sample hand from first episode:

Hellmuth open limps AQs, as is his wont, Ivey completes in the SB with T6o and Hoivold checks J8o. The flop comes out a bone dry K43r and Ivey bets half-pot into both players. Hoivold folds, Hellmuth calls with his ace high and they see an 8c turn, completing the rainbow. Another Ivey bet forces Hellmuth to fold. You could see similar hands in each episode. Ivey is just extremely comfortable in his ability to outplay some of the other players on later streets. The entire point of his flop bet there is to get heads-up with Hellmuth so he can just crush him on the turn and river all day long.

Another Ivey-pwns-Hellmuth hand from the first episode occured when Hellmuth made an oversized open to $4k with AJo (btw, if you listened to the pokerroad live radio broadcast of the ME FT this year, how funny was it to listen to Hellmuth talk about his genius advice to Shulman that he should make his opens be 5x the bb "so they can't set mine against you"? Yikes....). Ivey pops it up to $15k with QQ. Inexplicably, Hellmuth then raises to $55k. And then folds to a shove. Of course he can't call the shove given stack sizes (I think Hellmuth is something like $190kish deep at that point)...but then why raise to $55k? Really, Hellmuth should probably just be folding to the Ivey 3-bet because he's just going to get crushed by Ivey. But then extending the logic of backwards induction, Hellmuth should just quit the table before the game gets started.

Then he loses a big pot to Esfandiari and starts to straddle. Why not just announce to the whole table that you're steaming? Everybody knows that Phil never wants to straddle, so him deciding to do it unilaterally is just telling everyone that he's off his game, such as it is. Unsurprisingly, he ends up losing his stack to Ivey. Don't worry though, eventually Hellmuth will beat Ivey "for a million...or two."

Episode 2 included an interesting hand between durrrr and Dario Minieri (who can really play IMHO). Daniel Negreanu opens in early position with 54s (a little bit loose, but not way out of line) and gets called by Gus with AKo. I'm not sure what Gus's plan is for this hand, but for most of his plans for the rest of the hand after calling, I think I like re-raising better. The problem is that he'll get squeezed by some player at the table a fair amount of the time if he just calls. If they were all 100 bbs deep, he would probably then be in a profitable spot to just 4-bet shove, but given that all the players are way deeper than that, this option is less attractive. So then he will have to just call and be out of position for the rest of the hand with AKo, or fold, which is pretty weak. If he raises, he probably gets rid of everyone else, and also could easily get some value from Daniel, who as we have seen doesn't mind calling pre-flop re-raises with speculative hands. Nor do I think he has to worry too much about getting 4-bet by Daniel as a bluff.

Sure enough, he durrrr squeezes with K5s (spades!). As we see here and in the next episode, durrrr likes 3-betting UTG raisers. He knows that they know that they're supposed to have a big hand there, and so when they have anything less than a monster (like not AA/KK), it's a pretty tough spot, especially deep. K5s is a pretty good hand to do it with, as it has some card removal value (having a king makes it less likely that the other players have KK or AK), and some monster-cracking power with its suitedness and big-little-ness. The big-littleness is often a disadvantage since it means it's not connected at all, but if you want a non-premium hand that has card-removal value, it has to be disconnected (unless it's ace-little, which has the added value of wheel potential). But you make up for it somewhat by the possibility of making two pair, which has more value for K5, when the opponent can flop top pair with AK, or have AA or a worse two pair (say, on K65 or K54) but think that you are value betting with AK. Two pair is less valuable with a suited connected hand like 89, because most of the boards that have and eight and a nine don't look too great for the opponent.

Perhaps realizing that durrrr likes to squeeze UTG raisers, or just giddy at the prospect of being dealt two tens (a pair!), Dario cold 4-bets to $36.6k, maybe a touch big, but a very nice bet. Definitely better than cold calling (which I think he'd almost never do with a super-premium hand) or folding, given how wide durrrr's range is. Of course, then you have to bother with playing in a big pot post-flop with durrrr, and durrrr is always capable of 5-betting air. But this time durrrr just calls. The flop comes down Q76 with two diamonds, Dario bets half-pot and durrr folds quickly. It's kind of unfortunate that this flop came down, as I'd really be interested to see what would happen if an ace or king flopped, or even something like Q53 with one spade where durrrr might be a little more likely to try a float. All we know is that durrrr had some plans for some flops, and Q76 with two diamonds wasn't one of them. Or maybe durrrr thought that Dario would be giving up on the flop without c-betting a fair amount of the time?

Looks like this post got long kinda fast, so I'll wrap up with just one more hand from Episode 3: Eli limps QTo in early position (BTW, I've mentioned this before, but that guy HATES folding...I'm not saying he's a bad player, but he does probably call than any other player at that table), Ivey raises it up to 5k with T9o, and gets called by Daniel in the cutoff with 9d8d and Gus on the button with As3s. Of course Eli isn't going anywhere and puts in the extra $4200 to close out the action. The flop comes JdJh7d and it checks around. Ivey doesn't c-bet, presumably because he's against 3 players, none of them like to fold, and this is a board where he's probably not folding out any 7 or better, any straight draw, any flush draw, probably gets floated by some ace-highs, and called by some underpairs sometimes too. But Daniel not betting is strange to me. There are so many great reasons to bet in Daniel's shoes. First, you can fold out Gus a lot of the time and buy yourself position on the other two players for the rest of the hand. Second, Ivey has already checked, which means he doesn't have a great hand most of the time, as we've already gone over the fact that he'll get called a ton if he bets here. Third, you avoid some cooler situations because if a better flush draw or a jack raises you, you can fold and you don't risk losing a bigger pot later to a better hand. Daniel's draw looks great on the surface, but it isn't going to be that profitable to him to make a flush or a straight, unless it's a straight flush. Can you think of many ways for him to win a big pot? I can't. I'd much rather use the draws as kind of an insurance policy, and generate most of my profit off fold equity of betting the flop now and potentially the turn as well, rather than trying to just check down and trying to maximize showdown equity. Anyway, Daniel checks and Gus lets a turn card come off, which is the 2h. It again checks to Daniel, who again fails to bet, even less explicably in my view. All the reasons for betting the flop are only amplified on the turn. Check-calling a bet from Gus is just the nut low. Gus could be drawing to hearts, which kills the Th for Daniel some of the time. Also if Gus is drawing to hearts, they're probably higher than Daniel's nine, and so a check/check on the river and Daniel loses. But Daniel does call a healthy-sized bet from Gus. The river rolls off a 7h and it goes check/check, sending a $60k pot to Gus with ace-high at showdown. Which has to make you sick if you're Daniel.

Well, here's hoping for more interesting hands and more frequent recaps in the future....

-BRUECHIPS

I berated bruechips for not including a hand from episode 3, so now it’s on me to put together a little summary of it.

Gussie opens in the 3 hole for $4,200 with the ole’ 46 (not one but TWO spades FTW!) and gets called in two spots. DURRRR with A7cc (the second nut soot) and the K8hh in the BB by the biggest station ever to set foot on HSP. Oh and that is not an opinion btw…its pretty well documented. The guy simply DOES not fold. I wish I could back this up with some empirical evidence but bruechips and myself have had many discussions about his inability to dump a hand. I feel like if he ever played somewhat seriously online, he would be in deep shit because clicking “call” is SIGNFICANTLY easier than actually placing the chips in the middle.

Frop comes down K93r ftw. From Gus’s perspective, this is a great frop to C bet. It is bone dry other than the gutterball. Despite having 6 high he represent AA, Kx, and the occasional set. As soon as I saw this frop I thought to myself, its going to take A LOT to make Eli fold his hand given this board. Eli Checks the frop, Gus bets $9,900, DURRRR folds, and Eli calls. Pretty standard stuff here.

Turn is a brank offsoot 3. Once Eli xc’s the turn, I think that Eli’s range is capped to KQ other than the occasional boat. I think that when Gus bets this turn – he’s going to bomb most all rivers. He has zero showdown value and Eli will sometimes fold hands the likes 9x, JT, QJ, TT to a river bet.

River is the almighty A of spades. Eli again xc’s ftw. As Gus mentioned, the A is a terrible card for him. Gus was attempting to rep a big Kx type hand and now all medium Kx hands will chop vs him. Also, if that is the hand he is representing, there is really not much of a reason to bet when the ace hits, other than to try prevent the pot from being chopped. I wonder if Eli calls a river overbet shove…who knows.

One thing to note is the bet sizing. I think that given the board texture, Gus can definitely get away with betting SIGNIFICANTLY less on the turn and pull off a “triple deke” (phrased coined by OMGCrayaiken which involves triple barrel bluff with a twist of a tiny sized turn bet). The 3 changes essentially nothing and it is unlikely that either of them have one given card removal. I think that Eli’s response to Gus’s turn bet regardless of size will be the same. Gus bet 74% pot bet on the turn, and I’m pretty certain that he could have made a cheaper turn bluff in the neighborhood of 25-35%.

For all of you playing HSP, please burn this into your head. ELI DOES NOT FOLD! C’mon, let’s see some razor thing VB’s vs this guy!

-BRACKCHIPS


February 16, 2010

When's The Best Time to Play? An Empirical Answer...

First, a blog note: Just like last season, I will recap High Stakes Poker action, but probably not every episode, but more like a post every other episode or so discussing the biggest hands. The Season 6 premier aired on Sunday, so some time next week I'll try to put up a post on the first couple of eps. Gabe Kaplan did promise that durrrr and Phil Ivey will be playing in every episode, so that's certainly something to look forward to.


On to the main purpose of this post...It seems to be a general assumption that weekends are the best times to play, and during the week, evenings are best. Well, I did some data analysis to test this idea. All data are hands from 15 mid-stakes full ring FTP regulars. I took these hands and ran the following linear regression:

pi_i,t = a_i + b_1*1{weekend} + g_1*h1_t + g_2*h2_t + g_3*h3_t + g4*h4_t + g5*h5_t + error_i,t

To clarify: pi_i,t represents the winnings in a given hand for player i at time t. The right hand side of the equation is made up of data (1{weekend}, h1_t}, etc.) and parameters to be estimated (a_i, b_1, g_1, etc.). a_i represents a fixed effect for player i in predicting pi_i,t. That is, some players win more on average than other players and I don't want to think that, for instance, weekdays are more profitable only because the players within this sample who have higher win rates at all times play more of their hands on the weekdays. I want to hold fixed a player's skills and ask at what times they make the most money.

1{weekend} is an indicator variable that equals one when the hand is played on Saturday or Sunday, and zero when it is played on the other five days of the week. The b_1 parameter estimates what effect a hand being played during the weekend has on that hand's expected winnings.

The hk_t variables are also dummy variables. I put each hand into one of six four-hour blocks: 12:00-3:59am, 4:00-7:59am, etc.. The FTP hand stamp records EST, so those are the times given here. In order to make the regression work, one category must be omitted (if you have no clue why this is the case, it's too much to explain here, but if you remember a little bit of undergraduate econometrics, it's because the sum of the time dummies and the player fixed-effect dummy are then co-linear). For this regression, I omitted the first four hours of the day, so the interpretation of each coefficient is the change in predicted profitability of one hand RELATIVE to the first four hours of the day.

If you don't understand or aren't familiar with regressions, here's another way of thinking about it. Since all the RHS variables are dummies, you can think of it just as taking how much better each player is on weekends than weekdays, and then taking a weighted average of that statistic, where the weights are given by the total number of hands that each player has in the data set. Doing similar calculations for the hour dummies will yield coefficients identical to those obtained from regression estimates.

Here are the results on the coefficients of interest, in bb/100 hands:

b_1(weekend effect): 0.77
g_1 (4-8am): -1.26
g_2 (8am-noon): -0.38
g_3(noon-4pm): -1.26
g_4(4pm-8pm): -2.52
g_5(8pm-midnight): -0.84

A note of caution is that none of these coefficients are statistically significantly different from zero. In other words, it could be due to just random variation that the weekend turned out to be more profitable in this data. Since there's such wide variance in profits across hands, this isn't too surprising. So proceed with caution, but the data seems to indicate that: i) weekends are in fact more profitable ii) 8pm - 4am EST are the best times to play. These results pretty much corroborate what you might think. The main surprise is that the 4-8 pm EST time block seems to be so bad. In fact this is the coefficient that gets closest to statistical significance, with a 95% confidence interval of (-5.55, 0.51).

Note that I did not include interaction terms in the explanatory variables, so I can't pick up things like: i) better players are more better on weekends/during certain hours ii) certain hours are more better than other hours on weekends than weekdays. And, of course, since I put the hours into groups, I can't say anything about how things change within the time blocks I have.

-BRUECHIPS

January 31, 2010

Accidental Thinness, and a Derty River X-back

Been grinding pretty hard at the Rush tables these days, and overall things have gone well. Unfortunately HEM came up with a way to send stats to your notes, so Rush poker is no longer HUD-less. I say unfortunate because I think I had more of an edge when nobody had any HUD stats. Oh well. Anyway here are a couple of hands I played tonight:


Hand 1:

Full Tilt Poker $0.50/$1 No Limit Hold'em - 9 players - http://www.thehandconverter.com/hands/510913
The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

Hero (BTN): $192.15
SB: $42.80
BB: $89.50
UTG: $106.10
UTG+1: $217.85
UTG+2: $201.85
MP1: $113.90
MP2: $68.75
CO: $56.20

Pre Flop: ($1.50) Hero is BTN with Td Th
UTG raises to $3, 5 folds, Hero calls $3, 2 folds

Flop: ($7.50) 4c 6d 9c (2 players)
UTG bets $8, Hero calls $8

Turn: ($23.50) 4d (2 players)
UTG bets $8, Hero calls $8

River: ($39.50) 5d (2 players)
UTG bets $12, Hero raises to $37, UTG calls $25

Final Pot: $113.50
Hero shows Td Th (two pair, Tens and Fours)
UTG mucks 8d 8s
Hero wins $110.50
(Rake: $3.00)

I wish I could say I was raising the river for value, but I thought I was doing it as a bluff to get him off a bigger overpair, since the straight gets there, plus I could have been slowplaying a set on earlier streets, especially with the turn pairing. That plan was obviously terrible, but two wrongs ended up making a right for me as he pretty much instacalled me with pocket eights. Which I did NOT expect ROR.

Here's a somewhat similar hand where my plan also didn't work, and this time it cost me:

Full Tilt Poker $0.50/$1 No Limit Hold'em - 9 players - http://www.thehandconverter.com/hands/510914
The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

UTG: $128.60
UTG+1: $216.50
Hero (UTG+2): $133.45
MP1: $58.30
MP2: $100.00
CO: $86.40
BTN: $89.30
SB: $33.80
BB: $40.00

Pre Flop: ($1.50) Hero is UTG+2 with Th As
2 folds, Hero raises to $3.50, 1 fold, MP2 calls $3.50, 4 folds

Flop: ($8.50) 5d 9c Ah (2 players)
Hero bets $5, MP2 calls $5

Turn: ($18.50) 2s (2 players)
Hero checks, MP2 checks

River: ($18.50) 7s (2 players)
Hero checks, MP2 bets $12, Hero raises to $37, MP2 calls $25

Final Pot: $92.50
Hero shows Th As (a pair of Aces)
MP2 shows Kd Ac (a pair of Aces)
MP2 wins $89.50
(Rake: $3.00)

When he bets the river after calling pre-flop and on the flop and then checking the turn, I pretty much know he has an ace, and any reasonable ace is going to beat me. I don't think he would bet, say, Ad8d on the river. And even if he does, there are so many aces that beat me that I don't think I can call. So I decided to turn my hand into a bluff and try to get him to fold some of the aces that beat me. AK is pretty much the top of his range, so I'm not too upset about getting called by that. If he folds AQ and AJ, then my play is good. I'm risking 37 to win 30ish, so if he's folding 2/3 of the time, then I'm golden. Granted, I'm not repping too much on the river, but I could conceivably have A7, 77, even the occasional 68s or 22. But really I'm just banking on most players at this limit folding to a river check-raise when they have one pair. Unfortunately this time he had the nut one pair. Oh well. I did manage river check which worked out pretty well:

Full Tilt Poker $0.50/$1 No Limit Hold'em - 9 players - http://www.thehandconverter.com/hands/510918
The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

Hero (UTG+2): $160.65
MP1: $91.05
MP2: $85.90
CO: $100.00
BTN: $68.40
SB: $247.95
BB: $160.85
UTG: $151.65
UTG+1: $96.05

Pre Flop: ($1.50) Hero is UTG+2 with Qc Qd
1 fold, UTG+1 raises to $4.05, Hero calls $4.05, 6 folds

Flop: ($9.60) 7d Qs 6c (2 players)
UTG+1 bets $8, Hero calls $8

Turn: ($25.60) 5s (2 players)
UTG+1 checks, Hero bets $14, UTG+1 calls $14

River: ($53.60) As (2 players)
UTG+1 checks, Hero checks

Final Pot: $53.60
Hero shows Qc Qd (three of a kind, Queens)
UTG+1 shows Ac Ah (three of a kind, Aces)
UTG+1 wins $50.95
(Rake: $2.65)

Usually I am pretty obsessed with getting river value and loathe checking back big hands like this one, but here, there's just not that much value in a bet. When he check/calls the turn, he usually has an overpair, and occasionally has AQ or spades. The oversized early position raise pre-flop had me thinking big pocket pair from the start, so I was mostly discounting spades (esp with the river spade being the ace) and AQ. Even if all AQ combos are possible AND he's calling with all of them, AND he never has spades (or a straight, etc.), then I'm just breaking even on a river bet, with there being 3 combos of AQ and the same number of AA combos possible. KK he's never calling. A lower set, I think he bets turn. So I ended up checking back, ready to vomit all over myself if he had shown top two, but the decision saved me probably $35 or so.

-BRUECHIPS



January 25, 2010

Rush Strategy

I have been pwning Rush for pretty much all of my sessions recently...it's just so nice not too have to worry about table-selecting to avoid shorties and bad tables (although the recent move to raise the min buy-in makes this easier). And just not having to worry about tables breaking all the time, not having to keep track of 14 tables open at once...I've been able to 4-table Rush without too much of a problem, which puts me well over 1,000 hands/hour. Sick. Verneer had a pretty nice Rush poker video up on CardRunners if you're a CR member, I found it quite useful.


The change in the game is that you're essentially trying to play against a population-average player all the time, and other players are trying to do this too. You can't use a HUD and the game goes too fast to take notes if you're 4-tabling (more on this later). So unless you recognize somebody as a regular by their screenname, you just have to assume that they're some random donkey and play like the average player. They have to do the same thing for you (if you recognize somebody as a reg, chances are they recognize too, so usually you're either both unknown to each other or you both realize that you're regs).

In any case, I don't want to give away too many secrets...and Verneer covers them pretty well in his video, but here's a list of some things that average players at .5/1 don't do that often, that are wildly profitable to do vs. players who assume that their opponents don't do them very often:

1) 3-betting
2) In particular, 3-betting and squeezing early position raisers. Ranges are tighter for early position raisers than LP raisers and everyone realizes that. But most people don't realize that EP raising ranges aren't so tight that 3-betting isn't really profitable when you get folds from everything but QQ+, whereas when you 3-bet a button raiser you're getting a fold out of KQo and JTs pretty rarely these days.
3) Raising c-bets. Raising c-bets in position, deep, with two overs and a backdoor draw, for instance, is pure gold.

These are all strategies that should be employed in normal games too, but to a lesser extent, because opponents can adjust and start giving your raises less respect. But in Rush, they won't adjust unless 1) you do it so much that people start making notes on you, 2) you post on your blog that you'll be doing it, or 3) the entire pool of players starts doing these things, in which case you have to figure out how to adjust yourself and exploit players who are best responding to this new norm.

-BRUECHIPS

January 20, 2010

Rush Poker

Whoa dagg....loooooooooooong time no post. I really apologize. At first traveling for nearly a month around Christmas was keeping me away from posting, and then I ran bad in life for a while, which has limited my productivity in many spheres. Both professionally and personally, the last month or so has been probably the toughest of my life. But I'm working through it, and hope to come out of it a much better person, no matter how things turn out. That vague enough for you guys?


Anyway, a mitigating factor that really has me looking on the bright side of life is Rush Poker, the new gimmick at Full Tilt. I tried it out for the first time tonight and God is it awesome. The deal is, you're basically place at a new table with a random group of players every hand. Whereas when multi-tabling, if you click the auto-fold button, you have to wait for the hand to finish to get dealt a new hand, in Rush Poker, you can 'Quick Fold' and just get insta-dealt a new hand at a new table. The pros:

1) You can still multi-table it. It looks like 4 is about the most Rush tables anyone is playing right now, which I think might get you over 1,000 hands an hour. I was playing two tables just to get the hang of it and managed to get in 413 hands in 41 minutes. You'd have to be playing really sick numbers of non-Rush tables to get this many hands/hour.

2) Another factor that adds to your hands/hour is that you don't have to wait for a seat to open up at a table, and you don't have to worry about tables breaking. Also you don't wait to get to your big blind at the end of a session, when you might be down to playing just 2-3 tables at the tail end of a session. With Rush tables you're up to your peak hands/hour rate right when you sit down, and you never slow down until you decide to end the session. By the same token, it's much easier to take a bathroom or snack break.

3) Much easier on the eyes. Four-tabling Rush tables gets you sick hands/hour without having to try and read the small numbers and fonts and whatnot if you're instead trying to 12- or 16-table traditional tables.

A few cons:

1) You can't use a HUD, because the tables are changing every hand. This does matter, but if you know your game well, then you know who the solid regulars are and you can pretty much assume everybody else is likely to be a weaker player, although you don't know if they're just weak/tight or loose/passive or a monkey or what. But hey, that's what notes are for!

2) You can't table select. Everybody gets the same chance of getting a whack at the donks in the player pool, which is good if you would otherwise be sitting on an 8-person waitlist hoping to get the Jesus seat on a 89/12 fish, but bad if you would otherwise already have that seat and four others like it because you are a derty table selector. If a lot of your profitability comes from game selection and you can't beat the slightly-better-than-average player at your stakes, Rush might be worse for you.

3) You are taken to a new table as soon as you fold, so you can't get reads on players by watching hands where they show down against players other than you. Full Tilt still downloads the entire hand history so you can look at it later in HEM or whatever program you use, but then you'll have to look at it there and somehow go back and find any player you want to make notes on, which is annoying.

4) By the same token, you can't build up a particular dynamic with a specific player or the entire table where you steal a few times and then tighten up and hope to get a big hand to get paid off with. This can be good or bad...if you use this strategy successfully a lot, then obviously Rush takes it away from you. But if you're bad at this type of leveling war, no worries, Rush to the rescue.

5) Availability. Right now they have only up to $.5/1, but I'd imagine that will change soon.

Hope to be posting more in the future. Good luck at the tables!

-BRUECHIPS

January 14, 2010

Poker after Dark

LOLLL - be sure to check out this weeks episodes...so so lineup but it is definitely worth its weight in GOLD as far as entertainment. Catch episodes from earlier this week on pokertube.com.


Watching helmuth donk around with these guys is just epic stuff. He moans, whines, complains NON STOP with his UB cap, shorts, and WSOP bracelet...how GHEY is that?

Here's a question...if this guy played HU with an ANTE vs any competent HU player - how long would it take for him to be completely bankrupt? ROR.

January 9, 2010

PLO Brag

I played a PRO hand that I felt was rather brag worthy. In PLO, given the fact that equities run SO effing tight...the nature of the game provides "gamblers" an artificial edge given the fact that they are willing to stick their money in light. Its pretty rare to ever be a HUGE dog pre or postfrop as it is in NLHE...yer often going to be in a bunch of 60/40s...on one side of the other, and provided you can run well...you'll prolly have the illusion that you are gods given to PRO.

AnyWHO...provided you can get yourself on the CORRECT side of those 60/40s...you will be printing money, provided you don't get raped by the RNG. Now I don't craim to be an expert/winner at PLO by any means...but I'm going to review a HH below and provide some analysis on a hand which I thought was particularly interesting. Given that equities run so tight...it's pretty very difficurt to play a hand optimally.

*************************************************************

Full Tilt Poker $2/$4 Pot Limit Omaha Hi - 6 players - http://www.thehandconverter.com/hands/466160

The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

CO: $715.00 BTN: $400.00 SB: $275.00 Hero (BB): $599.20 UTG: $551.40 MP: $80.00

Pre Flop: ($6.00) Hero is BB with Qd 9h Kh Kc

1 fold, MP calls $4, CO calls $4, BTN raises to $22, 1 fold, Hero requests TIME, Hero raises to $76, 2 folds, BTN calls $54

Flop: ($162.00) 6c 7d 3d (2 players)

Hero checks, BTN bets $88, Hero requests TIME, Hero calls $88
Turn: ($338.00) Js (2 players)

Hero bets $338, BTN calls $236 all in

River: ($810.00) 7s (2 players - 1 is all in)

Final Pot: $810.00

BTN shows 8s Kd 9d Th (a pair of Sevens) Hero shows Qd 9h Kh Kc (two pair, Kings and Sevens) Hero wins $807.00
(Rake: $3.00)

*************************************************************

Pre - virrain is SUPER tag...as in nitty unlike Tiffany's mom's vag. Rike 19/15 in PLO...I honestly can NOT believe that styre can be profitabre in PLO...given that IMO its far too tight for a 6M NLHE game. W/E. I 3b the SB for value and get fratted - the key thing to take way from this frat is that his range now does NOT included AAxx. Also, I don't think his 3b calling range will include many pairs...unless they are of the well connected double paired variety. I expect him to pitch junk like AK99 (which he may actually open fold anyway). Frop - There is one three letter phrase that comes to my mind when this comes down. FML. Times 100x. I instantly considered xf'ing given how GROSS this board is and that I have zero draws/backdoor draws...and that I'm almost NEVER going to get it in on this frop as a favorite. It also is BURRIED in his 3b calling range that is weighted towards sooted connectors. While debating the xf option...I just go ahead and check and evaluate. Sorta ghey, but I'm out of position with a naked overpair (full stax vs a competent player) and literally want to jump off a bridge. Virrain goes ahead and bets a rather ghey amount...VERY enticing for a xrai, but I opt for a variation of the patented Bruechips Fade and Go. My plan is xc, shove ANY non diamond that does not complete 89 on the turn. Granted its a HUGE chunk of the deck...but I felt that given his range, it was a better play than to bet fold, bet call, or xf. Turn -BINKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK. J of spades...an excellent card for me. Ipot donk it into him and booya, he calls it off as he should with a big timey wrap with a FD which I'm able to fade on the river. Villain was prolly thinking (HOW THE F DO I NOT BINK FTW?!?!?!) instead of realizing that he got ooooooowwwwwnnnnddddd! For all you math geeks out there - here are the equities street by street.

PREF - 69/31 FROP - 34/66 TURN - 58/43

Ship it.

-BRACKCHIPS

January 3, 2010

Brackchips 1, Bruechips 0

That's the blog tally as we start the new decade...WORD!!! (My guess is this may be the only point during the year when I will have more blog posts so I need to make a point to rub it in.)


I've been completely off the blog radar the past few months lately...just haven't felt much like blogging. Poker has been pretty brutal lately - I made the random decision at the end of October to switch over to PLO after playing in a home game...and I've caught the bug for sure. However, it has decimated my roll, ROR! I really enjoy the game much more than NLHE - it really makes you think significantly more compared to NLHE...but the variance/swings can bebrutal for sure.

The consensus from what I have heard is the variance is something like 2x NLHE. I'd be curious to figure out an actual way to measure the differences in variance. What other ways can you compare the relative variance other than your all in frequencies? My guess right now is that it is probably more than that assuming you are playing a relatively aggressive game at tables that are not completely infested with passive fish.

Contributing to my downswing has been the nonstop crap I've encountered with my computers/hem/windows. Pretty much everything in the world has gone wrong and I really haven't been playing on my main setup sans problems for well over a month. I've seriously spent at least 50+ hours tweaking/fixing/troubleshooting my machine. I've finally went ahead and upgraded both my machines to SSD hard drives, both running Win 7, and it looks like HEM is FINALLY cooperating. So I'm looking forward to getting back on my desktop with my timey monitor sans distractions. Now if I could only have FT email me all the hh's I am constantly requesting.

Bruechips was in town for about a week during the horidays and we were able to mix in a good amount of HU action of a PLO/NLHE mix. I ran like god because I had the advantage of homefield but credit must be given where it's due - brue prayed rike a beast and I'm suprised I didn't quit poker altogether when he 4b the turn in a hand of NLHE with a 3rd pair no kicker which was good vs my 4th p+SFD (spade frush draw aka the nuts). Thankfurry I rivered a SPADE ftw...SHIP IT!

BTW - for any of you with an iphone/ipod touch - I HIGHLY recomend downloading a free game called "Imobsters." You won't regret it, trust me.

-BRACKCHIPS

December 8, 2009

Tales from Undergrads, Part 3

Readers,


Sorry I have been posting Brackchips-style over the past month or so. The holidays had me traveling a bunch, and I've been busy with school without much time for poker or blogging. I will put up a big post later, but I just have to share with you this email exchange I had with an undergrad, which I am reporting here verbatim except for where I turned some stuff into *** to protect privacy.

Email 1:

From: hempinaintez@******.***
To: bruechips
Time: Saturday, 2 pm

David,

I noticed that the practice finals say a two sided cheat sheet is allowed. Are we allowed to bring a cheat sheet to the final?

Chris *****


(Sunday afternoon, I forward this to the professor to ask, he says yes, then I write back to the student:)

Email 2:

From: bruechips
To: hempinaintez@******.***
Time: Sunday, 6 pm

Yes, cheat sheets are allowed.


Email 3:

From: hempinaintez@********.***
To: bruechips
Time: Monday, 7 am

Wow, if I could I would give u the shittiest TA evaluation, u rele dropped the ball. I moved all day sunday, that's y I emailed u friday....... Thanks for nothing, I thought u were supposed to be helpfull .


Email 4:

From: bruechips
To: hempinaintez@*****.***
Time: Monday, 8:30 am

The time stamp on your email is from Saturday. Maybe on Friday you were hempin'? I hear that's not easy.


Email 5:

From: hempinaintez@******.***
To: bruechips
Time: Monday, 9 pm

Are we reading the same email? U sent it to him on sunday to ask I can see that email, and then u try to lie! Don't sit here and make me look stupid.


Email 6:

From: bruechips
To: hempinaintez@********.***
Time: Monday, 10 pm

Chris,

By "your email," I meant the first email you sent to me, which I received on Saturday, not Friday as your second email claimed. I then emailed you back on Sunday, about 28 hours later. If you feel this constitutes dereliction of my duties as a TA, you are free to complain to Professor ****** or to the Vice Chair of Undergraduate Studies. I'd advise you to spell out the second person singular pronoun and use a different email if you want your complaint to be taken seriously.

David

-BRUECHIPS